Westminster sunset

Westminster-sunset

And this is why I love cycling home after a long day at work. Just look at that sunset!

After two months of cycling home in the dark, it lifts the heart and the spirit when I leave the office at around 5.45pm and it’s still light outside.

This evening the sky was awash in a perfect blush pink, which deepened into peach and gold, as the sun moved closer to the horizon. My route home is west-bound, so it was like cycling into a beautiful watercolour painting.

When I got to Westminster Bridge I decided to park the bike up for five minutes so I could take this quick photograph on my iPhone. It’s not particularly sharp or well framed, and it doesn’t even begin to capture the vivid richness of the colour, but it gives you some idea of this evening’s magical sunset… It’ll probably snow tomorrow.

One thought on “Westminster sunset

  1. I cycled a couple of times in London, but was extremely happy when I could get into one of the parks. I’m used to cycle in the Netherlands, but somehow cycling in London is so much scarier even than in Amsterdam haha! And you are there in the heart of the city cycling. Is that just something you have to get used to or does it still frighten you sometimes to be on your bike in the heavy traffic of Westminster?

    Like

Leave a Reply

