February wrap-up: a disappointing month for cycling

February-calendarI’m not sure what happened to February. I feel like I blinked once and then it was gone.

Sadly, I didn’t do much cycling. As predicted in my January round-up post, I knew it wasn’t going to be a particularly active month as I had a lot of evening social engagements planned, which meant leaving the bike at home…

But I didn’t expect it to be quite so inactive. It didn’t help that I hurt my neck and right shoulder on the 15th of February — I cycled to work the next day, but I shouldn’t have. The riding position was very uncomfortable (I could barely turn my head to check for traffic) and I think I probably made things worse. The stiffness persisted for about 10 days. If I was a car and had to go in for a MOT, I’m pretty sure I would have failed it.

In the end, I cycled a lowly five times across the month, notching up just 66.19 miles in total. My Garmin says I burned 2,832 calories, so I guess it wasn’t all bad.

Here’s to a much more active March.

Leave a Reply

