Start the year as you mean to go on

Victoria monument

Victoria Monument, out the front of Buckingham Palace, which I cycle past twice a day

After not having ridden my bike for several months, I dragged my trusty hybrid out of storage and cycled into work every single day last week. I loved it.

Admittedly, when the alarm went off at 7am on Monday morning I really just wanted to snuggle back under the duvet. I’d had 15 days off over Christmas and New Year, and had spent my time masquerading as a sloth. I’d gone for a 5-mile walk every day, but I’d rarely gotten out of bed before noon.

But despite the shock of having to get up in the dark — and cycle in the dark — it didn’t take long to get back into the swing of it.

By week’s end I’d cycled 65 miles in total and burned more than 2,700 calories; I’d survived torrential rain (on Wednesday morning), the most beautiful sunrise that bathed everything in gold (on Thursday morning) and crosswinds (on Friday evening); my thigh muscles were very sore and my tummy muscles were killing me, but the sense of achievement was wonderful. Now, let’s hope I can keep it up…

2 thoughts on “Start the year as you mean to go on

  1. Just found your blog. I really liked the London Nightrider entry because I started work back in the 1960s in Southwark Street and got to know the Thames southbank well. In those days Bankside Power station was up and running and smelling quite badly! I have also lived near both Crystal and Alexandria Palaces in those years. Now living in Tasmania, your pictures remind me of those enjoyable days! But, I didn’t manage to get such good pictures of the Thames – congratulations.

    Cycling is pretty good in Tasmania with many picturesque lanes to follow – as ever though, looking out for vehicles behaving badly.

    Your site is now bookmarked. I have heard good things about Bromptons so will follow you adventures with it.

    Like

    • Thanks for your lovely comment, Tony. I work in Southwark and cycle there every day from West London, but I bet it’s a lot different to when you were there. It’s a very up-and-coming area now and, of course, the power station is now the Tate Modern art gallery.

      Like

Leave a Reply

