A perfect afternoon for cycling

IMG01200-20110328-1437

Really gorgeous weather today, perfect for cycling. Sun in the sky, no wind and only a slight chill in the air.

I cycled from Hammersmith to Barnes, along the tow path, surprised at how dry and rock hard the surface was after weeks of slipping and sliding through mud.

Once in Barnes, I took the back streets into Richmond Park. I spent the first few hundred yards fighting it out with 7-year-old schoolboys mid-way through a run of some sort.

I'd spotted them as soon as I cycled through Roehampton Gate, a stream of ant-like creatures moving across the green fields in the distance and emerging onto the Tamsin path, doing a sharp 90 degree turn and then stumbling up the path in a daze of exhaustion. The only mite who seemed to have any energy left was the little chap who spied me slowly inching my way around them and dared me to a race!

Once I got past the kids, it was easy going in terms of other pedestrians and cyclists. There seemed to be very few about and there were times when I felt like I had the entire park to myself.

I did one-and-a-half circuits of the park, feeling quite strong and energised throughout. I stopped at the 10-mile mark for a muesli bar and a drink, which I'd brought along with me, and then headed back home via the main roads, rather than the river, so that I could call in at the organic butcher for tonight's dinner!

Total distance: 20.75miles (33.38km) | Ride time: 1hr 55min and 35sec | Average speed: 10.7mph | Top speed: 23mph

One thought on “A perfect afternoon for cycling

Leave a Reply

