A little bit of road rage

Some days you wonder why you bothered getting on the bike.

Today I just didn't seem to have any energy. I was tired and lethargic for at least 50 per cent of the ride, almost as if I didn't have any power in my legs.

And then, to top things off, I had my first dose of road rage since almost getting run off the road by a van circa 2005.

I was only a mile from home when it happened. A woman in a little hatchback was double-parked near a park. I sat behind her for a few seconds, just to gauge the situation, but it was clear she was having an animated conversation with the passenger sitting alongside her, so I pulled out to overtake her.

You guessed it. She decided to pull out at the same time. Without indicating. Without checking her mirrors. And nearly hitting me in the process.

I managed to catch up with her at the next set of traffic lights. As you can imagine I was a bit angry, so I hammered on her passenger window and told her that she needed to look out for bikes.

To be honest, I wasn't feeling particularly rational and didn't want to get into a conversation about it. I just sat in front of her bonnet until the traffic lights turned green. I hoped that seeing me sitting there might stick in her memory for a bit, so that next time she's on the road she'll remember to keep her eye out for cyclists. But I won't hold my breath.

Total distance: 17.07miles (27.3km) | Ride time: 1hr 37min and 27sec | Average speed: 10.5mph | Top speed: 21.5mph

Leave a Reply

