40mph wind gusts do not make for a good cycle

Wind
At the risk of this blog turning into a regular weather report, today's conditions were not particularly conducive to a leisurely cycle. It was far too windy — although I didn't know that until I was out and about. (It's only now, looking at Metcheck.com, that I see the wind was gusting at 40mph at the time I was on the bike.)

I had initially planned to do two quick loops of Hyde Park early this afternoon, but I ended up cutting it short because of the blustery conditions. Several times I was nearly blown sideways off my bike. If there is one thing I can't stand it is wind, or, to be more precise, gusts of wind.

Give me rain, give me hail, give me snow, but NEVER give me wind!

In the end I just did one loop of the park, before stopping off at Kensington High Street to do some shopping — all kitted out, I might add, in cycling trousers, raspberry cycling jacket and my helmet. No one batted an eyelid.

Total distance: 8.25miles (13.3km) | Ride time: 47min and 46sec | Average speed: 10.3mph | Top speed: 20.5mph

One thought on “40mph wind gusts do not make for a good cycle

  1. My facebook has turned into one big weather update.
    Hah. Today was very windy and I too ended up on High Street Ken…in cycling shoes and my helmet…neither of which I bothered to take off!
    I did come away with rather lovely red shoes though…which made cycling against the wind worthwhile.
    Personally, I’d rather have wind than rain.
    Hope you got some good shopping/window shopping done. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

