Confession time: I bought another new bike

IMG01088-20110209-1614

This is going to sound really extravagant, but yesterday I had a rush of blood to the head and bought myself a new bike. It's the exact same model as the one I bought in Australia in December. I've had it "blinged up" with front and back mudguards and a pack rack. Total cost, including my CTC membership discount, was £360.

I figured it was worth spending the money to get a bike that fits me properly. Although there is absolutely nothing wrong with my old bike, a Specialized Sports Sirrus, which I bought in 2007, it's only become clear to me in recent months that it is too small for me. This causes me to hunch my shoulders, which leads to stiffness. And because the seat is too close to the handle bars I get a soreness in my left flank.

It wasn't until I went on my ride around Richmond Park on Monday morning that I figured I should do something about the situation. Within minutes of riding my Specialized I could feel the old flank pain returning and my shoulders stiffening up.

So yesterday I paid a quick visit to my local Evans bike shop, thinking I'd just have a look and see what was on offer. When one of the sales guys asked if he could help and I told him I was looking for a Trek 7.0 FX with a 17.5 frame I did not expect that they would have one in stock. But there she was sitting right in front of me. The only thing she didn't have was my name in lights flashing above her!

The rest, they say, is history.

This afternoon I took her for a quick spin around Hyde Park. She felt fantastic. Really smooth and easy to pedal. Best of all, no flank or shoulder pain for me.

I do, however, need to make some slight adjustments, first to the position of the gear levers and second to the height of the seat. Once that's sorted there'll be no stopping me! Oh, the places we'll go!

2 thoughts on “Confession time: I bought another new bike

Leave a Reply

