Why I need a cork hat for cycling

Cork-hat Fly

Next time I go cycling I might have to wear a cork hat over my helmet.

Today, for the first time in almost one month of cycling in Australia, I got bothered by flies.

They tried to get up my nose, climb into the corners of my eyes and fly down my throat. Yewww.

I spent half of today's cycle trying to shoo them away. This meant I spent the first 8km cycling one-handed.

Fortunately, on the reverse journey, there was a head wind which kept the pesky blighters away. But tomorrow, when I get back on the bike, I'll be making sure I cover myself in insect repellent. Unless, of course, anyone knows where I can buy a cork bicycle helmet!

Funnily enough I never seem to have this problem when cycling in London…

Leave a Reply

