Cycle track hazards

IMG00921-20101221-1224

There might be signs up warning you about the snakes, but where are the signs warning you about the fallen tree branches?

I came across this during this afternoon’s 16km cycle. The weather’s been a bit wet and wild over the past two days, so I wasn’t particularly surprised to come upon this. I stopped and pulled it off the track, then went on my merry way.

I expected the track to be pretty wet and muddy, but it was actually quite dry despite heavy rainfall over the past 48 hours.

I now have a mudguard on my rear wheel. I bought an el-cheapo set yesterday, only to discover they don’t quite fit my bike. The front one constantly rubs against the tyre, so I took it off, while the rear one is sitting in place through the ingenious use of a cable-tie.

I also have a drink bottle cage, which means I don’t die of thirst. Although in this mad weather there’s no fear of suffering from heat exhaustion!

I was grateful for having a bottle of water with me today, however. The last 8km of my cycle was in a terrible headwind. The only way I could make progress was to cycle in a low gear, very slowly. But boy, my legs were killing me by the time I got to the end!

Leave a Reply

