Of rain and rants

Cycled in the rain this morning. It wasn't half as bad as I expected. A kind of light, misty drizzle that cleared before I was half-way to work.

Had expected lots of cyclists on the road, owing to this evening's tube strike, but there weren't as many as I thought there would be. Plenty of idiots though. When will my fellow two-wheeled commuters LEARN TO USE HAND SIGNALS? Honestly, I find it incredibly frustrating and RUDE. People need to think about others rather than living in their own little bubbles. You might know where you're going, but I don't have a CLUE.

Rant over.

The ride home was pleasant, although I nearly got squashed by a red bus which decided to cut in on me so that it could undertake a car turning right, and a woman in a 4WD who just stormed up the road like she bloody owned it.

Will be interesting to see how many bikes are on the road tomorrow, as there'll be no tube trains whatsoever. I think I might just head out extra early to avoid the twits that annoy me so much!

5 thoughts on “Of rain and rants

  1. cycling in from south London (Lambeth) to central Oxford street was fraught with weaving between cars and pedestrians this morning. 1st real tube strike effects were dazzling, a huge amount of cars and pedestrians walking. The walkers looked the most content! I felt a bit like i was doing a workout weaving between bumbers, but also quite pleased with myself passing people stuck in cars. All in all it was an average tube strike commute.

    Like

  2. You see a few cyclists about – a few westerners (with all the gear on) and then you’ll see some fellows (expat, but not westerners) riding on the wrong side of the road, no helmet or anything and riding like they haven’t got a care in the world. Scary stuff. (& you know how fast cars go around here – it is a wonder there are any cyclists left!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

