A new route

A lot has happened since my last cycle — a holiday to Ireland, a major refurbishment of my flat and another visit to see my rheumatologist — but this morning I decided to stop putting it off any further: I jumped on my bike and cycled into work.

Fortunately, my Other Half tipped me off beforehand that the Tamils were still protesting at Parliament Square (they were there five weeks ago when I made a tentative and short-lived return to cycling) so I was able to pre-plan a different route.

I cycled up the Strand and Fleet Street, and crossed at Blackfriars, instead of going south of the river at Westminster, and I'm beginning to wonder why I haven't always done this. There were far less tricky junctions to negotiate and fewer motorised vehicles to deal with. My only problem was discovering that I couldn't make a right-hand turn at New Bridge Street. I had to keep going up Ludgate Hill and do a U-turn near St Paul's Cathedral.

This evening I had to leave the bike at work, because a package (a kitchen light) arrived for me at work that was too big to fit in my bike bag and which I promised the builder he would have by 6pm. That means tomorrow morning I'll catch the tube in and ride home… I guess it's a good way to break myself in again.

Oh, and before I forget, while at Hyde Park Corner this morning an older male cyclist with a Scottish accent pulled up next to me, made a comment about the chilly weather and then offered me a drink of his squash. I declined. But I guess it was nice of him to offer.

One thought on “A new route

Leave a Reply

