Early mornings, getting used to

Not much to report today. I'm definitely getting used to the early mornings now and seem to wake up about 15 minutes before the alarm goes off. This is a good sign.

I am not a morning person. I like my bed and I find it difficult to get up at the best of times. But cycling helps me sleep better, which means I wake up feeling refreshed. And once I get into the habit of getting out of bed as soon as the alarm goes off, instead of lying there for another 10, 20 or 30 minutes (as I am inclined to do), then it makes things much easier. The trick is to not think about getting up, but simply to do it.

And once I am out and about at 7.30am with the blood pumping through my veins and my lungs taking in big gulps of crisp air, I wonder why I fell out of the habit of cycling regularly for so long. It feels great to actually be outside and getting some physical exercise while the rest of London sleeps or battles public transport or sits in little metal boxes going nowhere.

Total distance: 12.25 miles | Ride time: 1hr, 13min and 14sec | Average speed: 10.54mph | Top speed: 18.4mph

Leave a Reply

