Four days in a row

I've cycled four days in a row this week. I used to do this quite a bit in 2006 but I rarely did it last year and I definitely haven't done it at all this year.

I thought it would take a couple of weeks before I started to feel the benefits of my increased exercise, but I can feel the difference already.  Mentally I feel especially alert. I get to work buzzing, really looking forward to the day's challenges instead of feeling sluggish and uninspired. I'm eating more fruit, too, which helps.

I've also figured out that I need to leave the house at 7.30am to take advantage of the quieter roads, and I should leave the office at 5pm before the traffic builds.

This morning I left the house at 7.50am and the traffic along Kensington High Street was terrible: one big mish-mash of every kind of road transport you can imagine, and more bikes than I've seen for a long time. My new pet hate is scooters, which dash in and out, often without looking, and think it's perfectly okay to use road space set aside for cyclists — for example, the big green boxes at traffic lights. Grrrr.

Total distance: 12.29 miles | Ride time: 1hr, 13min and 15sec | Average speed: 10.56mph | Top speed: 17.9mph

Leave a Reply

