Reasons to be cheerful

It was a beautiful morning to go cycling this morning. As I made my way to work on the back of a bicycle I felt ashamed that I had considered staying in bed and catching the tube.

If I'd followed through on my lazy thoughts I would have missed the sun glowing relatively low in the sky at around 7.45am.

I would also have missed the glint of the sun's rays bouncing of The Serpentine and seeing the ducks waddling along the shoreline.

I might also have missed the cheeky scamp of a squirrel who leapt across my path as I sped down Rotten Row, just inches away from my front wheel.

And I would also have missed the sheer delight of discovering that Horse Guards Parade has a new road surface, a lovely soft-impact red tarmac — about bloody time, it was possibly the worst road in central London, riddled with deep corrugations and unexpected potholes. It felt wonderful to fly across it without fearing for my life!

Total distance: 12.41 miles | Ride time: 1hr, 15min and 43sec | Average speed: 10.33mph | Top speed: 19.3mph

2 thoughts on “Reasons to be cheerful

  1. Treadly, I saw the little bugger leap across the lawn and then sit at the edge of the bike path. I swear he was just waiting for the right moment to jump out and scare me off the saddle!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

