‘The Man Who Cycled the World’

If you live in the UK be sure to watch BBC1 tonight to catch the third episode of The Man Who Cycled the World.

This is a four-part documentary series about Mark Beaumont's attempt to cycle around the world in 200 days.

Unfortunately, I only caught the tail end of the first episode on Monday night, but I watched all of the second episode last night and am looking forward to the next installment this evening.

I was a huge fan of Ewan McGregor and Charley Boorman's Long Way Round and Long Way Down adventures (as my book blog will attest), but they had it easy with god knows how many people in their support crew. Poor Mark, a 25-year-old Scot, is doing the whole journey solo, using a handheld camera to record his trip. There's no back-up crew or local 'fixers' to help him on his way.

And unlike Ewan and Charley he doesn't seem to moan every three minutes saying 'I miss my wife' or 'I'm not enjoying this' or 'I wish our timetable wasn't so rushed'.

Plus, he grows a much better beard than either of those two could muster!

Links:

Mark's official website.

BBC news story about Mark breaking the world record.

Story in the Mirror about the TV program.

One thought on “‘The Man Who Cycled the World’

  1. Damn, I’ve missed it. And since I’m not in the UK I can’t get it on their iPlayer, even if it’s on there (it doesn’t work for people outside the UK). Never mind, being the BBC I’m sure they’ll repeat it (three or four times).

    Like

Leave a Reply

