Rainy weather

The prospect of riding in pissing down rain is not one I relish, but whenever I brave the wet weather it is never as bad as I expect it to be. This morning’s commute was a case in point.

It was chucking it down when I left the house. I was almost tempted to change out of my cycling clobber in order to catch the tube instead. But no. It’s only a bit of water, I told myself.

To be honest, the first mile-and-a-half was pretty damn wet. The rain was coming down so heavily it hurt. I tucked my chin down and used my helmet visor as a kind of shield.

The rain eventually eased off and became that kind of misty rain that gets into everything. But, surprisingly, when I arrived at my destination I wasn’t too wet. My feet, of course, were soaked. But the rest of me — hair included — was dry.

I must remember this mantra in future: whenever it rains, cycling in it is never as bad as it seems.

Total distance: 12.43 miles | Ride time: 1hr, 15min and 31sec | Average speed: 10.56mph | Top speed: 20.1mph

4 thoughts on “Rainy weather

  1. Hmm. But sometimes it is, the rain that is–bad. Here in Virginia, for instance, it’s been coming down at a steady clip all day, so that vast pools of water are blocking intersections and flooding the shoulders of roads. I thought briefly about commuting by bike this morning, . . . then repented.

    Like

  2. Revrunner, you’re completely right, I have seen it when there’s so much water on the road it’s dangerous to cycle through. However, I’m a wimp and if I see it raining just a little I turn it into an excuse not to cycle. This morning, however, I didn’t realise it was raining outside when I was getting ready to go to work…

    Like

Leave a Reply

