Glorious dawn

A glorious dawn this morning. The sun was a giant orange ball just hovering over the tops of the buildings when I set out at about 7.45am. I could see it rising through the skeletal tree branches in Kensington Gardens just beyond the glinting gold of the Albert Memorial. It didn’t look quite real.

Later, skirting along Upper Ground which runs alongside the river, the light blushed a spectacular coral-colour, turning all the white stucco buildings along the north side of the Thames a beautiful baby pink. Even the fat, white supports that hold up the London Eye were cast in a curious rose glow.

It was all over in a matter of minutes. But I would have missed the simply beauty of a London dawn had I decided not to ride the bike…you don’t normally see these things when you catch the tube!

Total distance: 12.48 miles | Ride time: 1hr, 16min and 05sec | Average speed: 10.28mph | Top speed: 19.7mph

4 thoughts on “Glorious dawn

  1. Kim, you need to take photos to go along with your great prose of your surroundings. Do it for us in the colonies who dream about biking in London. šŸ™‚
    All the best,
    Joe.

    Like

  2. Rodney, very true. I’m not a morning person, but there’s something special about seeing this city wake up from the back of a bike.
    Joe, you’ve given me food for thought, especially now that I have a new camera bag that straps across my body and would be quite easy to tote around while cycling. I’ll see what I can do!

    Like

Leave a Reply

