A good, fast ride

Start the week as you mean to go on.

I trundled into work this morning on my bike, the first time in a week, and boy, did it feel good. The air was crisp, but not overly cold, and my legs felt strong. Everything seemed to come together traffic-wise as well: I caught all the green lights, I didn’t get stuck behind any buses, and there were fewer cycles to contend with.

The return route was equally satisfying, and I shaved some 8 minutes off my total journey time compared to my tentative return at the start of the month.

The only thing that bugged me was the curb huggers — the cyclists that think it’s safer to ride within about five inches of the gutter when, in fact, they’d be much better off taking the lane and making their  presence known. Wherever I could I overtook them and at one point, while I flew down Kensington High Street, I think I encouraged a couple of fellow cyclists to follow my lead. No sooner had I gone past them than I turned around to find they were now tailing me and had positioned themselves in the middle of the lane, just as I had. I like it when that happens.

Total distance:
12.42 miles | Ride time: 1hr, 13min and 09sec | Average speed: 10.73mph | Top speed: 19.5mph

2 thoughts on “A good, fast ride

Leave a Reply

