Typepad flags up London Cycling Diary; London Cycling Diary is shamed into updating this blog!

I’m not normally someone who honks their own horn, as it were, but I got a mention in Typepad’s newsletter and blog last week in a post headed Typepad Tours London. As a consequence the number of visitors to this site has trebled, and I’ve been shamed into actually updating it after a two-week hiatus. How typical.

So, if you’re a new visitor, bear in mind I do a lot of ranting here. Cycling in London is nowhere near as dangerous as you might believe, although the way I bang on about the idiots on the road you might be forgiven for thinking otherwise!

I first started cycling in August 2005 — you can read my first post here — and I haven’t looked back since. 

I don’t propose to be an expert cyclist or even a dedicated one (I only cycle to work two or three times a week, I blame my lazy gene and inability to get out of bed in the morning), but it has revolutionised my life. I feel fitter, happier, less stressed and more toned. And I no longer have to find time to go to the gym.

If you’re here because you’re considering becoming a commuter, give it a bash, I’m sure you won’t regret it!

One thought on “Typepad flags up London Cycling Diary; London Cycling Diary is shamed into updating this blog!

  1. Glad you’re back. I’m a new cycle commuter and I stumbled on your blog a couple of weeks ago. Really enjoy your tips and stories. My friends and colleagues think I’m mad but I’m a 50-year-old woman doing a 17-mile commute from West to East London. So far I’ve only managed to do it one way per day, leaving the bike at work overnight and riding home the following evening. It feels adventurous and exhilerating, especially as the first bit is right through Richmond Park, which I see you’ve cycled in. Going home through there at dusk, just after it closes to cars, is quite magical. There are bats and owls and in this season the sound of the stags roaring. Keep up the postings! Kata

    Like

Leave a Reply

