A slow return

My first day back on the bike after a two week rest, and typically it’s like the world has gone mad.

The morning journey is relatively smooth, but the route home is crazy! There’s a three-day tube strike in action, which catches a lot of commuters off guard. The roads are gridlocked (mainly by taxis) and I’ve never seen so many pedestrians in my life. Great swarms of them take over the streets (and the cycle paths!!), so cycling is an incredibly slow and treacherous experience.

When I get home I’m grateful to find I am still in one piece!

Today’s roundtrip total distance: 13.08 miles | Ride time: 83min and 13sec | Average speed: 10.11mph | Top speed: 21.1mph

Leave a Reply

