Going the extra mile

When I rode home tonight I thought I would make the most of the spring-like weather (and the extra light now that it’s daylight savings) and go on a little diversion.

Instead of riding through Hyde Park I decided to go around the top of it, adding an extra mile to my usual commute.

It was very pleasant riding. The sun was low in the sky and was filtering through a fine mist, giving everything a faintly orange-pink glow.

I followed a dedicated cycle path skirting the North Ride. Riding through a field of longish grass studded with giant bare-branched plane trees, it was hard to believe I was in the middle of Europe’s largest city. I could almost convince myself I was out in the countryside somewhere — until the roar of a Porsche brought me back to reality.

All up, the diversion added less than 5 minutes to my journey. I think I might make it a semi-regular route: I could do with the extra exercise and the extra time on the bike. I couldn’t think of a better way to wind down after a hard day at work… (Well, I could, but it involves consuming vast quantities of alcohol, and that’s not what this blog is about!)

2 thoughts on “Going the extra mile

  1. Sounds idyllic! For the cost of a few extra minutes to “get away from it all” (or at least have that illusion) why not make it a regular turn?
    Standing by the launch of the London Drinking Diary blog…

    Like

Leave a Reply

