Sticking it to me

Walkingcane_1

There are many hazards that cyclists must deal with on a day-to-day basis but a walking stick doesn’t immediately spring to mind, does it?

On this evening’s ride home I almost got clobbered by two of the bloody things.

It was completely unexpected — well, it would be, wouldn’t it?

I was happily zipping along Kensington Gore when two old women standing out the front of the Royal Albert Hall tried to catch the attention of a bus coming up behind me. They stepped out to the very edge of the curb and raised their walking sticks into the air. Then they waved them. In. Great. Big. Arcs.

All well and good, but I was riding along the curb at the same time and the downward wave of their sticks got a little too close for comfort. In fact, I actually ducked my head, thinking they were going to come crashing down on top of me.

Guess there’s a good reason for wearing a helmet after all…

5 thoughts on “Sticking it to me

  1. I remember riding with a group in England in the 1970s; we were approaching a red light. An old geezer was waiting at the light standing beside his bike with one foot on the pedal.
    The light turned green and the old feller gave a couple of scoots and then swung his leg over to mount his bike in true old geezer fashion, just as we were passing.
    He kicked the lead rider clean off his bike. You have to watch out for those old folks, they can be deadly.

    Like

  2. Treadly, I always thought my helmet was to protect my head if I fell off, not to protect my skull from little old ladies waving walking sticks in the air! 😉
    Dave, that’s a hugely funny story!! I can just picture it in my mind’s eye. I bet the old geezer got a bit of a shock too, assuming he noticed! 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

