Like a drowned rat

I turned up to work looking like a drowned rat this morning.

But it wasn’t the 6-mile commute in light, drizzly rain that did it.

It was the short 50 yard walk from my undercover bike park to the office door that did the damage. It was like someone had flicked a switch. One minute the rain was light, the next it was bucketing down. The wind picked up too, gusting and swirling and turning people’s umbrellas inside out. Quite funny actually to watch everyone scuttling for cover, while I stride by in my cycle helmet and rain-jacket getting completely drenched!

When I finally reached my desk and took off my helmet my colleagues took one look at me and laughed. I spent the next 10 minutes with my head under the hand-dryers trying to recover my dignity!

Leave a Reply

