Why male cyclists need to be careful

According to an article published in The Age (Melbourne’s daily broadsheet) male cyclists aged 30 to 39 are at high risk of being killed or injured in collisions with motor vehicles on weekdays from 4pm to 6pm.

It would be interesting to see what percentage of cyclists fit into this age and gender group. Judging by the people I see on London’s roads, I would say a good 75 per cent of cyclists fit into this category — although I think this is slowly changing as cycling becomes more commonplace.

 

7 thoughts on “Why male cyclists need to be careful

  1. I fit into this age group and know that I ride harder on the way home and sometimes take more risks to keep up the momentum. Combine that with drivers also rushing around at the end of their day and you’ve got a potentially lethal combination. Any other theories?

    Like

  2. Having just joined that group on Sunday, I’m wondering what all the fuss is about. The same riding style that has seen me survive for over 150,000km isn’t suddenly going to become ineffective just because I turned 30.
    I think what you said at the start was the most accurate thing I’ve heard yet, if more cyclists fit this age group/gender than any other, law of averages suggests they will probably be in more accidents (all other things remaining equal). This sounds like just another tabloid sting aimed at scaring people (which seems to be a valid way to sell newspapers these days).
    FWIW, I actually feel safer in heavy traffic than in light traffic.

    Like

Leave a Reply

