Fashions on the tube

For the first time in about 12 working days I caught the tube to work yesterday.

It felt weird to be travelling in a confined space beneath London’s streets when I’ve spent the past month doing it on the back of a bike with the wind in my hair and the sun shining into my eyes.

It’s going to sound strange, but the first thing I noticed was the fashions worn by my fellow commuters. When did high-necked shirts with frills (like the ones Lady Diana Spencer used to wear before she married Prince Charles) become trendy again? It seemed like every second woman was wearing one.

And military-style jackets with double rows of brass buttons are obviously the latest must-have fashion item, too, but only if you’re female.

It was a bit like entering a time warp (hello 1980s!). Either that or I have been wearing bike shorts and high-visibility waterproof clothing for far too long…

8 thoughts on “Fashions on the tube

  1. Yes very 80’s. We’ve got that short ruffled mini skirt with wide hip band and Flock of Seagulls hairdo’s happening here. Really bad. And the whole peasant thing won’t quit either. But military style jackets I like the sound of. Can’t wait to get to Germany and go shopping.

    Like

  2. Yes the militay stuff sounds ok, but shirts with frills, hua!
    Here in Sweden leather riding-boots seem to be the number one fashion item. It mabe goes well with the military look.

    Like

  3. Dani, I’ve just read an article in one of the Sunday papers that says the gypsy/peasant thing is on the way out here, to be replaced by military fashions and Victoriana – hence the frilly shirts.
    Ella, yes, the leather riding boots have been big here for a couple of seasons now – and look like staying for a bit longer. Although I’ve noticed a lot of ankle boots with sharp, pointy little heels and lacework – probably to go with the Victoriana fashions.

    Like

  4. A lot of my students have frilly shirts. But maybe that’s because it’s a Christian university, and for half of them, being priggish and talking about going to church is the order of the day.
    The other half didn’t get the grades to go to better universities, and I see from their journals that they go out with boys and get drunk, just like the rest of us! No frilly lacework in their wardrobes! (At least, not of visible garments!)
    So do women now have to choose between long black riding boots and military-style jackets… or frills and lacework? Sounds like dominatrix vs angel, or the whole tramps ‘n’ tarts or saints ‘n’ sinners thing.
    I won’t ask! πŸ˜‰

    Like

  5. What’s next? Rah-Rah skirts? Oh, yes, they were back last season weren’t they? (Out this season!) How about Balloon skirts? Mmm, maybe I could did up that one I used to own and send it over to you Kim!

    Like

  6. David, ever thought of being a fashion journalist? You seem to have thought about this way too much!! πŸ™‚
    Raehan, I used to own a wardrobe of those shirts. In fact, I used to sew them myself when I was a creative little teenager!!
    Melody, what the hell is a balloon skirt? Seems to have slipped my memory… At least no-one seems to be wearing pink taffeta ball gowns!! πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

